Not even technically

Everyday I require that my children each fruit with breakfast and lunch and veggies with lunch and dinner.  Trust me.  I do not live under any delusion that my children will come close to the FDA government daily maximum requirements, but my hope is, with all the nagging, they will at least cross the minimum finish line.  Does anyone hit the maximum?  And, if they do, do they own stock in toilet paper?  I mean, come on.  That’s a lot of fiber in one day.

Nearly every meal resembles some form of this conversation…

“I’m done.”

“Did you have fruit?”

Silence from the child.

The Look‘ (you know the one) from me.

“Fine,” the child grumbles as their drag their feet across the kitchen.

Today was no different.  About an hour after he had eaten lunch, T-Dog announced that he was hungry and made a beeline for the chips.  I stopped him mid stride, asking him if he had eaten his fruit at lunch.  He replied ‘no,’ mumbled something under his breath, then decided he wasn’t so hungry after all.

Not even ten minutes later, my super-duper mom radar picked up the distinct sound of a bag opening.  I came around the kitchen corner to find T-Dog guiltily reaching into a cabinet.

“I told you to have fruit.”

“I am.  I’m having strawberries.”

“Nice try buddy, but strawberry Twizzlers are not a fruit.”

Mom- 1

T-Dog – 0

Daily Fruit Servings – 0

7 Comments

  1. Good for you Kerry. Sometimes being a mum just means totally being the ‘bad guy’ … even when being the bad guy is really being the good guy.

    A couple years ago I had a constant fight about chicken strips. What do you want for lunch? Chicken strips. Dinner? Chicken strips? Breakfast? Ok…that was a little different…but still….sheesh.

    I totally get that kids (and lots of adults) do not like veggies and fruits….but it also puzzles me because I find them ooohsooo yummers. 🙂

  2. haha! I do the same thing and the comment from your son about Strawberry Twizzlers reminded when the other day Iris made a similar comment about a box of popsicles she saw at the store that said “made with real fruit juice” and she said we should get them because they would be healthy! Nice try!

Leave a Reply

