Did she really just say that?!?!

I had no choice but to be a crafty person.  It was in my gene pool.  My mom sews and quilts.  She used to make clothes for us when we were little.  These days her creative juices are spent on Halloween costumes and the most beautiful quilts you have ever seen.  She truly has a talent.

Now I may not have received the quilting gene.  (In all honesty, I don’t know if I have or haven’t.  I’ve never tried.)  But I did receive the mutation for cross-stitch and crochet.

I enjoy doing counted cross-stitch.  I love watching the picture come together one X at a time.  But my true heart lies in crochet.

I love to crochet.  I find it relaxing.  I enjoy making blankets for people.  I like the feeling of accomplishment when I finish a blanket.  I love giving someone I love something directly from my heart.

Recently, I started making new blankets for my kids.  I made them baby blankets when they were little, itty-bitty things, but I decided to make them new bigger ones they could wrap themselves in while hunkered down on the couch.  In an attempt to keep the peace as much as possible, I am working on both blankets at the same time.  The last thing I wanted to hear was kid #2 complain that kid #1’s blanket was done already or was done faster or I like them better so I did theirs first.  So everywhere I go that I might have a few minutes to spare, I drag my crochet bag with me so I can whip out a few stitches.

photo copy 6

Not too bad for starting just a few weeks ago.

Today, I had two basketball games to go to plus drive time to and from, otherwise known as prime crochet time.  As I was sitting in the stands, watching the game and stitching away, (Yes, I can crochet without looking.  It’s a sick talent.) a lady sat down next to me.  I didn’t pay much attention to her a first.  I noticed she was cheering for my daughter’s team, so she must be a friend, not a foe.

At half time, she leaned over and asked me what I was knitting.

~ Sidebar ~ This is a pet peeve of mine.  Knitting involved needles and some techniques I do not possess.  Crochet involves a hook.  I am crocheting.  Despite my being annoyed, I’ve stopped correcting people years ago.  It saves me having to explain each craft to random people.

I told her I was making blankets and showed them to her.  She then turned back to talking to the man she was sitting with.

This is the conversation I heard next.

Man – “Do you knit?”

Woman – “No, I’ll learn to knit when I’m old!”

I then turned and looked at the woman sitting next to me.  This is what I saw.

photo copy 7

Wow!  I was rendered speechless and that’s truly hard to accomplish!  Anyone seen my walker???

 

8 Comments

Leave a Reply

