The things we do for love

My mom usually makes the kids Halloween costumes, but with her being on the mend, I took her off that duty to focus on her resting and recouping.  (i.e… Mom is getting better.  She’s allowed to drive again, so she has broken free of the house.  Additional good news, all the tests came back clear.   Mom’s cancer is all gone!)

Mom’s incredible with costumes.  A real genius.  You throw an idea at her and she can make it.  Sleeping Beauty, easy.  Dorothy, done.  Buzz Lightyear, yup.  Luke Skywalker, no problem!  So with mom on the injured reserves, it’s off to the store we go to hunt for costumes.

My son knew what he wanted before we even went.  Scream.  Really boy?  1996 called, they want their costume idea back.  No amount of cajoling or pleading would get him to change his mind.  So scream it was.

My daughter, on the other hand, couldn’t make up her 12-year-old mind.  First, was the whole debate whether to trick or treat or not.  I’m a huge supporter of going.  You’re only a kid once.  Enjoy the kid things while you can.  I trick or treated all through high school.  Of course, I’m 5’3 and 3/4″ inches (yes the 3/4″ matters), so I could get away with it.  Finally, by last Saturday, she was on the trick or treat bandwagon and we were off to the store.

Just as we were entering the costume shop, a mini wind tunnel was created and the store door slammed shut… on my pinky finger.

AAAAAAAAGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH!  That #*(%&$@ hurt!!  When I say it hurt, it hurt.  Did I mention it hurt?

I looked down, saw blood, felt the throbbing heartbeat of my finger and did what any decent mom would do, I threw on a band-aid, took a deep breath, and turned towards the racks to find this girl a costume.

I was instantly reminded of why I love that my mom usually makes costumes.  Did you know that every costume made for females is a sexy _____.  Why do you think that my 12-year-old needs to be a sexy Alice in Wonderland???

Luckily, my girl has a good head on her shoulders and was able to come sensible choice.

The 80s ruled the first time and again tonight!  How did my little babies get to be soooo big?

Oh, in case you were wondering….My fingers looked like this the following day.

 

And this later on.

I did have it checked out, no break.  Bad bruise.  Lots of pain.  The things I’ll do for that sweet baby girl.

 

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

