I’m melting

Let me start this off with the fact that I’m a sun worshiper.  I LOVE the summer.  I have the luxury of working in a school and getting able to sit at my house June, July, and half of August.  So, sit in the sun I do.  I could sit in the sun all day, everyday.  I take my kids to the pool almost daily and usually have a deep bronze tone going on by mid June.

All of that has changed this summer…. I am soooo done with this sun and heat!  In my city, we are on day 10 of a ridiculous heat wave.  It has been between 95 – 105 with heat indexes of 98 – 114 degrees.  It is too much, even for me.  It literally feels like you are wearing a sweater that has just come out of the microwave.  Yuck!

Now, it’s not unusual for us to have this extreme heat, humidity, and heat indexes in good ol’ Nebraska, but it’s usually doesn’t happen until late July, for a couple of days, and then it ends.  There seems to be no end in sight.

Despite all of this heat and all of my complaining, I have found one benefit of this weather.  I am finally able to clean this mess out of my truck.

Three years ago, after a dinner out at one of those restaurants where they give your children crayons, I came out to my over heated truck to find that these free crayons had made themselves a lovely art display with some discarded sunflower seeds in the console of my truck.  And there they have sat, frozen in time….until today.

Today this unintentional masterpiece is now soft and gooey enough to be able to make disappear.  Thank you heat wave of 2012!

Leave a Reply

