Why did I wait so long?

file://localhost/Users/kerryamazin/Desktop/photo.JPG

Hi, My name is Kerry and I have never had a pedicure…until today!   I know, I know, my friends, my co workers, my neighbors (particularly the one who owns a salon) all cannot believe that I have never had a pedicure.  Well I hadn’t.  My mom was not a salon woman.  She had a cosmology license, although she never worked with it once we were born, so she always gave us our haircuts, and still did up until about a year ago.  I finally went to a salon for my own hair last year.  Yes, I said last year.  I was 35 at the time, it was time.  Plus, my mom refuses to cut my hair short, so since I wanted to try a different style, I had to step outside of the family.

Since I broke the seal on this girly, salon thing, I decided to go full speed ahead.  When my husband was looking for mother’s day gift ideas, I told him I had decided I wanted to get a pedicure.  Now, again, I’m 36 now and I’ve never had anyone touch my feet…..for a reason.  My feet are Fred Flinstone nasty.  No really, they are.  (You’ll notice that there is no before picture.  That was intentional.)  I come from ugly feet people.  Both my parents are members.  They are short and wide.  The are always cracked and dry.  Plus, I run, so my toe nails kind of, well, fall off sometimes.  I usually slap some dark color on them and I hope no one pays much attention.

When I told Peter I wanted to get a pedicure, he was thrilled.  He believes he has beautiful feet.  He makes comments on their superior qualities while he rubs lotion in them daily.  So, when he went to the salon to get the gift certificate, he went a little crazy.  He bought not only a pedicure, but a manicure, a facial and a massage.  I get to join the super girly ranks at full force!

After my last day of work for the school year, I scheduled my very first pedicure.  As I was getting started, I felt the need to explain my feet to the pedicurist, Breanna,…and apologize.  She said I was over reacting and that my feet were fine.  I think she was just being polite.  I mentioned to her that my loving husband had promised return trips in my future if she could make my stumpy clubs look human.  That put a little extra pep in her step and extra elbow grease behind her pumice actions.

Soak, scrub, rinse, scrape, scrub, rinse, pumice, scrub, rinse, soak, lotion, file, cut, trim, polish, paint and voila!  I have pretty, soft, girly feet!   Breanna was a miracle worker, truly a genius.  I was so loving every minute of the pampering and relaxing that I was sad when she said I could slip on my sandals and leave.  What???  I have to go!!!  On my way out, I asked how long between pedicures and was told most people get them redone every four to five weeks.  FOUR TO FIVE WEEKS!!!  I can’t possibly wait that long!  Momma has a new obsession!

Leave a Reply

