Sure, you’re always right, absolutely

We all know someone like this.  Someone who barrels into a room.  Blankets the area with their opinion.  Blatantly disregards anyone who says anything slightly different from their opinion.  Then turns tail and stomps out mid sentence when they don’t get their way.  I have to admit.  I’m as stubborn as the day is long.  I want my way.  If I’m invested in something or knowledgeable about a subject, I will voice my opinion and let myself be heard.  I will fight for my side, but I’m not ignorant enough to think I am always right about everything, all the time.  I fact, the older I get, the more I learn that I can not only be wrong (ssshhh, don’t tell anyone), but also that other people’s viewpoints or ways of doing things might be as equally right or efficient.  I’ve also learned along the way, that even when someone makes a choice or starts a process that is not right, it is best for them to learn, trip up, fail, and succeed on their own.  Sometimes the best lesson someone can learn is by learning it the hard way.  Whatever the case, when I’m in a situation with other people, if I voice my concerns and air it out, that’s the best I can do sometimes.  I know I will not always get my way, and I’ve learned to accept that.  The older I get, the easier it becomes to spot those ‘adults’ out there who still have to learn this lesson.

Now for the part of maturing that I have to work on…  The letting it go part.  See, I may have learned I don’t always have to fight to be right, but I don’t quite have a firm grasp on letting go of the emotion, anger, feelings involved and moving forward.  I, like a child, want to hold on to the grudge.  I want to gossip. (I know, you’re not supposed to admit to that, but I LOVE to gossip.)  I want to call multiple people and relay the story, juice it up a little, get them to commiserate with me, but I know I can’t.  Ok, technically, I can, but I  shouldn’t, so I won’t.  I’ll just let it all out in words, release it from my body and mind and move forward.  Let go and let God, (or Buddha, or Darwin, or whatever your flavor is…it makes no difference to me).

Ok, I think that’s enough maturing for today… Now where did I put my phone?

 

Leave a Reply

