OMJ???

As I’ve mentioned before, I loathe text lingo.  My pre-teen-nearly teen-don’t remind me how old she’s getting daughter is rambling on about something of major importance in the seventh grade world.  I’m half listening, half making my mental list of evening activities when I hear her  saying, “OMJ!  OMJ!”

“OMJ?  Paige, it’s OMG,” I say as I shake off that disgusting slimy feeling from actually having to have vocalized OMG.

“No mom, I meant OMJ.  It’s better than OMG!

Not wanting to miss out on the newest coolness and knowing the importance of keeping up with what the kids are doing these day, I bite and ask, “Awesome Paige!  What does OMJ stand for then?”

Oh My Golly!!”, she says, smiling proudly of her witty creation.

“Um, ok….Honey….that’s still OMG.”  Dammit, why must I having to use lingo. Make it stop.

May beautiful daughter rolls her eyes at me.  “NOOOOO!  I said Oh My Golly… it’s O-M-J!”

“Noooo…Golly is G-O-L-L-Y.  Still OMG.”

“NOOOO!  Oh My Golly is O-M-J….whatever the other letters you said.”

OMJ…what am I going to do with this girl???

5 Comments

  1. Haha, that’s cute. My daughter is 12 and also in seventh and is well on her way to teen (or so she thinks anyway!) and gets terribly offended if I group her in with her siblings by saying “kids”…as in “Me and the kids are going to pick up something to eat.” Yeah, that’s offensive…lol

  2. I have a sister in 7th grade this year (which is crazy because that is how old I was when she was born) and she is already texting and dealing with the drama. I so don’t miss that. But, that is funny -OMJ! I thought it said OJ when I first read it. Lol.

Leave a Reply

